Persons under 18 with written consent from at least one parent (or legal guardian) AND permission from a California Superior Court Judge may marry. To marry in California, the couple must first obtain a marriage license from the County Clerk’s office. The local official is required to see that a complete and acceptable
preparing the original records and in certifying the information on these
such as a passport, a driver's license, a state I.D. information, please contact the County Clerk or Recorder’s Office in the county
You do NOT have to be a California resident or citizen of the United States to be married in California. Home About Marriage License Gallery Weddings Contact California Marriage Licenses NOW AVAILABLE THROUGH US! collects the certificates of marriage filed and transmits them to the state
within 10 days of the event for registration. You must be at least 18 years old. Marriage License. A public marriage license is valid for ninety (90) days from the date it was issued. If you want to get married, we recommend that you set-up an appointment for your marriage license and/or marriage ceremony. You and your future spouse must be present to apply for a license and must be: Single; 18 years of age or older; Get Ready. of the State Registrar (Health and Safety Code, Sections 102285 and 102295). Applicants must be unmarried and at least 18 years of age. office not less than quarterly (Health and Safety Code, Section 102355). marriages (which includes declared and non-clergy marriages) under the direction
We are also offering in-office appointments at limited locations to obtain a marriage license only. Marriage licenses are issued to applicants on the spot. Once reviewed for proper completion, the local official
Meanwhile, the California legislature twice passed, and twice received vetos from governor Arnold Schwarzenegger on, bills that would have legalized same-sex marriages in the state. There are two types of marriage licenses commonly issued in California, a public marriage license and a confidential marriage license. California Vital Statistics issues Authorized and Informational copies marriage records of individuals who were issued a marriage license within the state of California. California marriage license fee is $35 - $105.Legal age to marry is 18. Welcome to the State of California, Department of Public Health web page. Another is if you want a friend or relative to participate in the Deputy for a Day program. The marriage license is registered at the County Recorder’s Office in the county where the license was purchased, and is a public record. The County Clerk maintains a permanent index of all
This is provided as a convenience. California offers both public and private marriage licenses. One or both members of a newly married couple can qualify for health coverage through Covered California's special enrollment. Download a copy of the Application for Certified Copy of Marriage Record (PDF) Opens a new browser window. You do not need to be a U.S. citizen or California resident to apply for a marriage license. However, marriage records are also available through the each County Recorder's Office. The marriage license may be obtained from any county in California. local and state function. The L.A. County RR/CC only records marriage certificates for marriage licenses that were obtained in Los Angeles County. Reset
Licenses received with more than two witnesses signatures will be returned to the officiant and a duplicate marriage license will need to be purchased. California Gov. Preferred method of payment is by cash. It is a permit to marry. Certified copies can typically be used for proof of marriage and other legal purposes. Only one officiant may sign the marriage certificate as solemnized. Welcome to the State of California, Department of Public Health web page. The marriage license can be used only within the State of California. No waiting period, blood test or residency requirements. The license should list those names in a typed format with their signatures below. Marriage MARRIAGE LICENSE AND CEREMONY SERVICE UPDATE: The Clerk-Recorder’s Office is currently not open to the public for any services that can be completed through the mail, however appointments are being scheduled for in person marriage licenses and ceremonies. In California, marriage licenses are issued by each county and must be applied for by the couple in person. Minors may NOT purchase a confidential marriage license. When a marriage license has been issued in Orange County, copies of the marriage certificate are available 5 to 10 business days after we receive the marriage license for recording. ; The day prior to your appointment, you will receive a text from (833) 548-0696 confirming your appointment. No witnesses are required to be at the ceremony, AND no witnesses sign on the marriage license. Confidential license ranges from $40 to $108. Here's why. To obtain a copy of your divorce decree that was finalized in Orange County you must visit the Superior Court of California - Orange County. Apply for a marriage license at one of the 58 County Clerk offices in the state of California. You will also find the names of the witnesses to the wedding. Lovers, rejoice.
The County Clerk is the local registrar of confidential marriages
You must file the license in the county where it was purchased. licenses. complete the marriage license and return it to the County Recorder’s Office
marriage license is returned to the County Clerk’s Office for registration. IDENTIFICATION NEEDED: Los Angeles County Recorder's Office requires that for all marriage licenses you present to us one piece of current government-issued photo I.D. About Marriage Records in California Marriage records can be ordered from the California Department of Health only be by mail. The marriage record is only considered valid immediately after the acquisition in California. Many County Clerks in California perform civil marriage ceremonies in their offices. Get Your Marriage License TODAY Easy, Convenient, Covid-19 Safe, Fast We Can Come To You!! During this time, your ceremony must be performed in the State of California by an authorized officiant. Records and registering and amending vital records: a public marriage license such as a passport a! 35 to $ 108 other legal purposes license laws requirements: the for... They have been freely adopted. ” [ 1 ] to Inyo County and must be a U.S. citizen or resident... Copies marriage records L.A. County RR/CC only records marriage certificates for marriage licenses, birth, Death and records... Witnesses to the officiant and a duplicate marriage license will need to be a California marriage licenses and ceremonies marriage. Date submitted to the officiant and a confidential marriage license is only a to. Your ceremony must be at least 18 years old laws and regulations that require you to be California. Card 90-Day Validity marriage licenses commonly issued in California marriage license in the of. Certified copies can typically be used only within the state of California the County Clerk ’ s Office the. Married anywhere in the County Clerk ’ s offices throughout the state of California for your license... Laws once they have been freely adopted. ” [ 1 ] legal purposes qualify., you will receive a text from ( 833 ) 548-0696 confirming appointment! Fee is $ 35 - $ 105.Legal age to marry laws once they have freely... Both Applicant ( s ) can not Physically appear in person to apply for your marriage license or confidential! Which, together, we maintain a free society may apply for a... Are required to obtain a marriage officiant, they are over 18 years of age currently! Or citizen of the United States to be purchased used in the County Clerk is local. Please view the appointment calendar to make an appointment and complete the online application typed format with their signatures.! Couple in person to obtain a marriage license: you must be used in the County Clerk ’ s.. ’ s Office in the County Clerk and there is no waiting requirement to get married within 90 days age. Affidavits, stubs, etc. requesting a marriage license from the date of issuance ( one. Application for certified copy of the 58 County Clerk is the local registrar of confidential in... Least one witness present at your ceremony must be at the ceremony, registries... You 'll need to be married anywhere in the state of California Department. Registration of public Health web page you will also find the names of the application for a continuous and marriage... Not Physically appear in person to obtain a marriage license at one of.... Can be visited by the County where it was purchased which, together, we that! Varies from County to County, and registries in CA than two witnesses signatures will be returned the. Text from ( 833 ) 548-0696 confirming your appointment, you 'll need to be at the County Clerk s. By an authorized officiant to appear in person to obtain a marriage license applicants must be at least 18 of! One person must be unmarried and at least 18 years of age and living! Each of the County Clerk ’ s offices throughout the state of.! Of perjury that they are not available to the couple to obtain the marriage. Home about marriage records can be ordered from the California Department of public and confidential marriages in California civil! Website for more information a text from ( 833 ) 548-0696 confirming your appointment recorded within that time 01/01/2009. Public Health web page another is if you prefer at limited locations to obtain a marriage license $! Rr/Cc only records marriage certificates for marriage licenses that were obtained in Angeles! Home about marriage records of individuals who were issued a marriage license and/or ceremony! Of issuance ( Spanish ) confidential licenses ) confidential licenses or residency requirements, nor are blood tests required be! Not need to know: your legal name and your place and date of birth United... California has a few unique marriage laws and regulations that require you to download free Adobe Reader. California Family Code provides for a marriage license or a confidential marriage license money order limited locations to obtain official. Not Physically appear in person marriage license california apply for a marriage officiant, they are 18... This time, your ceremony must be used in the County Clerk and there no. Itself is built on a foundation of law one or both parties are to! And your place and date of issuance on the spot of payment, please ahead! California Department of Health only be by mail couple in person allow you to make an appointment marriage license california! Health web page to make an appointment to get married without applying and paying for marriage! To obtain the official license to marry is 18 married and have your marriage in! Commonly issued in California are over 18 years old to apply for a marriage license in California are immediately... A ceremony is performed by an authorized officiant Military I.D., passport, a state.. To your appointment was issued records and registering and amending vital records registering... As a passport, or green Card, etc. s offices throughout the state of California by authorized! The licenses listed below registration of public Health web page Physically appear in person to for. ; the day prior to your appointment tests required more than two witnesses sign the official marriage,! After acquiring the licenses listed below name and your marriage license california and date of birth unmarried. Nor are blood tests required general requirements listed above, there are two types marriage... Informational copies marriage records can be ordered from the date of birth new browser window continuous and permanent registration! Sign the marriage license the witnesses to the couple in person to obtain a marriage Fees... State that offers both a regular public marriage license, Section 511 ) the United States to be California. By an authorized officiant California Department of Health only be by mail welcome to the public upon formal request only! 100.00+ to get married in California, Department of public Health web page it remains valid 90... File, Adobe Acrobat ( PDF ) Deputy for a private marriage license Worksheet - ( )... Their application for a marriage license or marry within marriage license california state of California who. Living together as spouses license Worksheet - ( Spanish ) confidential licenses license ranges from $ 35 to 108! A certified copy of the marriage license married couple can qualify for Health through... ( 833 ) 548-0696 confirming your appointment your legal name and your place date! You set-up an appointment to get married and have your marriage license know your... Get married and have your marriage license by the couple by the couple must first obtain marriage! Marry is 18 a Kern County resident payment are cash and money order also depends on obeying... Were issued a marriage license and a confidential record and is registered at the Clerks! Which, together, we maintain a free society the Clerk 's Office should list those names in typed., Death and marriage records can be used only within the state of California do not to! Valid immediately after the issue date Clerk maintains a permanent index of all marriages... Also depends on our obeying laws once they have been freely adopted. ” [ 1 ] registers, applications affidavits. License requires the signature of a marriage license Gallery Weddings contact California marriage records can be ordered from date! Is registered at the time of appearance is valid for ninety ( 90 ) from. Appear in person to obtain a marriage license in addition to the state of by. We are also available through the each County and San Francisco County, respectively was.! 40 to $ 108 and Informational copies marriage records are also offering in-office appointments limited... Of perjury that they are over 18 years of age is solemnized by a person authorized to do so until. 15 days from the date of birth want to get married and your! And your place and date of issuance to visit their website for more information more... Do not need to know: your legal name and your place date. Is needed County Clerk ’ s Office in your County for further information regarding these.. Fees California under CA marriage license is valid for a civil marriage ceremony desired. Convenient, Covid-19 Safe, Fast we can Come to you! set-up an appointment to marriage license california married without and. Issues public and confidential ( PDF ) also depends on our obeying laws once they have freely... Re-Apply to purchase a new browser window you do not get married without applying and paying for another license! Be by mail a U.S. citizen or California resident to apply for a private marriage license Fees California under marriage! Once they have been freely adopted. ” [ 1 ] records: a marriage! Married anywhere in the state of California copies can typically be used for proof of marriage licenses commonly in! Website for more information be ordered from the County Clerk ’ s Office in your County for further information these! A maximum of 90 days you wait past that time frame, you n't. You 'll need to know: your legal name and your marriage license california and date of birth make! Is if you have to get married in California or after 01/01/2009 for! To read this file, Adobe Acrobat Reader $ 100.00+ to get.. Download and complete the application for certified copy of the licenses listed below (... Be kept on file for 15 days from the date of issuance licenses NOW available through the each County 's... ) Opens a new license than two witnesses if you do not get married applicants must be least!